Skip To Content

Mr Philip Sanders (Deputy Chairman, Development Management Committee)

Philip Sanders

Appointed By:

Devon County Council


3 Peryn Road, Tavistock, Devon, PL19 8LP


(01822) 612265

Committees and Panels

National Park Authority; Development Management Committee; Park Management Working Panel; Planning and Sustainable Development Working Panel; Standards Committee; Joint Advisory Committee on Provision of Housing for Local Needs; Audit & Governance Committee; Devon Strategic Partnership Board; Postbridge Visitor Centre Working Group; Local Plan Steering Group:

Biographical Details

Philip was born in Devon and grew up on a traditional mixed farm. He studied agriculture at University and has worked within the hotel management industry and later within the NHS, where he worked his way up to Trust Board Director. Philip runs his own health care consultancy business part time. Philip enjoys the outdoor life, particularly walking, cycling and running both at home and in Europe. In his spare time Philip has run a youth club, is a Duke of Edinburgh Award assessor and a voluntary Dartmoor National Park Warden. Philip was a Secretary of State appointee with the Authority from 1998 to 2004 and rejoined the Authority in 2009 as a County Council representative. He is the Chairman of the Dartmoor Trust, a Tavistock Town Councillor, Governor of Tavistock College, board member of the Tamar Housing Society and a member of the Devon Countryside Access Forum.

© Dartmoor National Park Authority | National Parks Portal | Terms and Conditions |