Skip To Content

26 October 2011

Secretary of State re-appoints Trevor Smale and Peter Harper to Dartmoor National Park Authority

Caroline Spelman MP, the Secretary of State for Environment Food and Rural Affairs, has re-appointed Trevor Smale and Peter Harper as Members of Dartmoor National Park Authority for a further 12 months and 4 years respectively

Photo of Trevor SmaleTrevor Smale is a town planner by profession and spent over 30 years in the public sector, latterly as a senior manager with the Audit Commission and then as a council chief executive.  A move to the voluntary sector followed and, after a period with the Devon Wildlife Trust, he has been the regional grant manager for the Lloyds TSB Foundations in the south west for the past 6 years.  Trevor is also an assessor for BBC Children in Need and an assessor and adviser for the Big Lottery's Local Food Programme.  He was first appointed to the Dartmoor National Park Authority in 2005. Amongst his many current roles at and for the Authority are chairing the Development Management Committee and the Greater Dartmoor Local Enterprise Action Fund.  Away from these roles he is a trustee for the Devon Wildlife Trust, sings in local choirs including Choir 86 in Newton Abbot and is a keen sports follower and golfer.

photo of peter harperPeter Harper is a local farmer in the Teign valley and shares his time between business interests and the family farm.  Peter first got involved with the Dartmoor National Park Authority through the Dartmoor Access Forum, the last 3 years being spent as its Chairman.  He is a very keen hillwalker.  As a Team Manager he has spent the last 14 years training young people to do the Ten Tors expedition.  Peter is also an active member of the NFU and SW Confederation of Timber Growers.  Peter's Member responsibilities include Chair of the Park Management Working Panel and Audit and Governance Committee.  He is also Member champion for electronic government.

Bill Hitchins, Chairman, Dartmoor National Park Authority, said:

‘I am delighted these re-appointments will allow the Authority to continue to benefit from their wealth of experience, expertise and enthusiasm at this challenging time’.


For further information

Lorna Brown, Director of Corporate Services, Dartmoor National Park Authority
Tel: (01626) 832093
John Weir, Head of External Affairs, Dartmoor National Park Authority
Tel: (01626) 832093

Notes for Editors

In 1949 the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act was passed and the first UK National Parks were designated in 1951. Dartmoor was designated in October that year, the fourth area of land in the UK to receive National Park status. This year Dartmoor National Park celebrates its 60th anniversary.

Dartmoor National Park Authority’s purposes under the Environment Act 1995 are:
•    to conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the National Park;
•    to promote opportunities for the understanding and enjoyment of the special qualities of the area by the public.

In carrying out this work, the Authority is also required to seek to foster the economic and social well-being of local communities within the National Park.

The Authority comprises 22 Members.  Six are appointed by Devon County Council, six by the District Councils: three from West Devon Borough Council, two from Teignbridge District Council one from South Hams District Council.  The remaining ten Members are Government appointees.  Four of these are appointed to represent parish council interests and are nominated by the parish councils on Dartmoor. The nominations are then approved by the Secretary of State. The other six Members are directly appointed by the Secretary of State to represent the national interest and are persons, usually local, with specialist knowledge of, or a particular interest in, the National Park.

Members are usually appointed for an initial period of up to 4 years, with the option of re-appointment for a period of up to ten years.  The diverse membership helps provide the balance of local and national interests that is essential to the management of a National Park.  Advice on how individuals can be nominated for appointment by the Secretary of State is available from Defra (external link, opens new window) or the Chief Executive (National Park Officer).

The main task of the Chairman and Members is to ensure the efficient, effective and accountable governance of the Authority and to provide leadership and direction for the organisation as a whole. The primary role of each Member is to work with the Chairman, Chief Executive (National Park Officer) and other Members to discharge the functions of the Authority and to steer and champion the strategic direction of the Authority so that it delivers benefits to the nation and its local communities in accordance with National Park purposes.

For more information visit and click on About Us

Agendas for full Dartmoor National Park Authority meetings and Dartmoor National Park Authority planning meetings are available on the Authority's web site.You can receive an e-mail notification each time a News Release is issued by the Dartmoor National Park Authority. Subscribe to Dartmoor National park Authority News.

For News Releases from all UK National Parks visit (external website, opens new window)

For maps, guide books, trail guides, clothing and other Dartmoor merchandise visit Dartmoor National Park Authority’s Online Shop

There are 15 members of the National Parks family in the UK: Brecon Beacons, Dartmoor, Exmoor, Lake District, New Forest, Northumberland, North York Moors, Peak District, Pembrokeshire Coast, Snowdonia, South Downs, Yorkshire Dales, Loch Lomond & The Trossachs, the Cairngorms and the Broads.  National Parks are of special value to the whole nation because of their great beauty, their wildlife and cultural interests and the opportunities they offer for quiet enjoyment.  However, they are not nationally owned - the land is in the hands of many landowners or occupiers including farmers.  Over 34,500 people live in Dartmoor National Park and many millions of visits are made to it each year.

 60th anniversary logo



Page last updated: 26 Oct 2011
© Dartmoor National Park Authority | National Parks Portal | Terms and Conditions |