MEMBER APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2019/2020

Please Note: <u>When an appointed Member representative is unable to attend a meeting, that</u> <u>Member will be required to contact the appointed substitute Member direct, at the earliest</u> <u>opportunity, to arrange for the substitute Member to attend the meeting in their absence</u>.

Body/Group	2019/20 Member
Campaign for National Parks (1) The Campaign for National Parks is a charity that works to protect and enhance the National Parks and areas that merit national park status, and to promote understanding and quiet enjoyment of them. (The member is invited by the Campaign, but approved by the Authority)	Miss Diana Moyse Mr Kevin Ball (substitute)
Dartmoor Access Forum (2) The Local Access Forum is a statutory advisory body established by the DNPA in accordance with the requirements of the CROW Act 2000. The Forum meets four times a year. At least one member should be a serving member of the Park Management Working Panel.	Miss Diana Moyse Dr Robert Parkinson
Dartmoor Commoners' Council (1 Member plus a substitute) The Dartmoor Commoners' Council was set up under the provisions of the 1985 Dartmoor Commons Act, to regulate agricultural use of the commons. It consists of representatives of the commoners, the DNPA, the Duchy of Cornwall, common land owners and a Veterinarian Surgeon. It meets eight times a year.	Mr Derek Webber Mr Andrew Cooper (substitute)
Dartmoor Hill Farm Project Steering Group (1) The DNPA has secured funding via the Prince's Countryside Fund to extend work of the Dartmoor Hill Farm Project. The overall aim of the project is to contribute to the viability of farm businesses on Dartmoor in ways that help sustain the special qualities of the National Park. A new Steering Group has been appointed and will meet on at least three occasions in each year.	Mr Peter Harper
Dartmoor Rural Crime Partnership (5) A joint initiative with Devon and Cornwall Police and other partners. It is recommended that the four Secretary of State Parish Members are appointed as 'community representatives' plus the Chair of the Authority. It is proposed to meeting twice a year.	Mrs Gay Hill Mrs Cathie Pannell Mr Philip Vogel Mr Derek Webber Ms Pamela Woods
Dartmoor Steering Group (3) The Steering Group was set up by Parliament following the 1975/76 inquiry conducted by Lady Sharp into the military training use of Dartmoor. Its purpose is to reconcile the (sometimes) competing interests of military training and national park designation and to seek ways of minimising the adverse impact of the training requirement at any one time. More recently the Group has focussed in a positive way on conservation and access benefits of the Defence Estate on Dartmoor. It consists of representatives of all the military interest, the DNPA, the Duchy of Cornwall, Natural England, Historic England and the Dartmoor Commoners' Council. It is served by the Dartmoor Working Party comprised of officers of the DNPA, MoD and other bodies. The Steering Group reports to the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and the Ministry for Defence. It meets annually. (It is customary for the Chair and Deputy Chair to take two of these seats)	Mr Kevin Ball Mr Peter Harper Ms Pamela Woods
Dartmoor Trust (1) The Dartmoor Trust has one DNPA Member representative on the Board of Management. The purposes of the Trust closely reflect National Park purposes. The Trust was established by the DNPA as an independent charitable Trust in the early 1990s in order to harness public and other donations for the good of Dartmoor.	Mr Andrew Cooper
Devon Communities Together (1) Devon Communities Together (former Community Council for Devon) exists to promote local community interests. Member representation is required only at the Annual Conference and the Annual General Meeting.	Mrs Cathie Pannell

Body/Group	2019/20 Member
Greater Dartmoor Local Enterprise Action Fund (1 Member plus a substitute) The LEAF is responsible for providing the overall strategic direction of the programme, approving projects and allocation of funding and ensuring that the programme is implemented effectively.	Mr Philip Vogel Mr Stuart Barker (substitute)
Heart of the South West Joint Committee (1 Member plus a substitute) The Joint Committee comprises representatives from all of the local authorities in Devon and Somerset including Plymouth and Torbay unitary authorities. It also includes membership from the Local Enterprise Partnership. It has been established to further joint working and implement the productivity strategy for the Heart of the South West.	Ms Pamela Woods Mr Andrew Cooper (substitute)
Joint Advisory Committee on Provision of Housing for Local Needs (3) This is a joint advisory committee of the three District Councils in the National Park, the DNPA, Devon Communities Together and the Homes and Communities Agency (HCA). It exists to co-ordinate the planning functions of the NPA with the housing functions of the other bodies. It meets twice a year and is chaired by an Authority Member.	Mrs Cathie Pannell Mr Philip Sanders Mr Derek Webber
Land Availability Assessment Panel The Land Availability Assessment (LAA) Panel is set up to consider land submitted to the Call for Sites for the Local Plan. The Panel comprises professionals in their field such as land and estate agents, small and large developers, the Environment Agency and Highways Agency. Three Community Representatives, appointed from the Authority, may also attend the Panel. The purpose of the Panel is to consider whether a potential housing or employment site may be technically deliverable.	Mr Kevin Ball Mr Andrew Cooper Mrs Cathie Pannell
Landscape Partnership – Moor Than Meets the Eye Project Board (1 Member plus a substitute) The primary purpose of the Board is to advise, support and steer the delivery of the Scheme for the benefit of the landscape, local community and visitors. The Board meets quarterly.	Ms Pamela Woods Dr Robert Parkinson (substitute)
Meldon Viaduct Company (1) In February 1999 the Meldon Viaduct Company was set up for the sole purpose of safeguarding and maintaining the Viaduct to ensure its future as a monument to Victorian engineering and as a valuable recreational resource. The appointed member will sit on the Board of Directors along with representatives from the Aggregate Industries Limited, Dartmoor Railway, Sustrans, and the County and Borough Councils. The group meets quarterly.	Mr Derek Webber
National Parks England (1) A limited Company established by the ten English National Park Authorities to represent their views and promote their needs at a national level. The Directors of the Company are the respective Chairs of the National Park Authorities.	Ms Pamela Woods
National Parks Partnerships Limited (1) A limited liability partnership established by all 15 UK National Parks as a vehicle to secure commercial sponsorship to fund conservation and recreation projects in the National Parks. It is recommended that the Chair of the Authority is formally appointed to the Partnership Board, as the Authority's representative, with the Chief Executive (National Park Officer) acting as a deputy. The Board will meet once a year.	Ms Pamela Woods
South West Water Recreation & Conservation Forum (1) This Forum consists of representatives of South West Water, local authorities, the DNPA, conservation bodies and recreation user groups. It advises SWW on recreation and conservation issues on its land and water holding. It meets twice a year.	Miss Diana Moyse