## **MEMBER APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2015/2016**

Body/Group	2015/2016 Member
Campaign for National Parks (1)	
The Campaign for National Parks is a charity that works to protect and enhance the National Parks and areas that merit national park status,	Mr David Lloyd Miss Diana Moyse (substitute)
and to promote understanding and quiet enjoyment of them. (The member is invited by the Campaign, but approved by the Authority)	
Dartmoor Access Forum (2)	
The Local Access Forum is a statutory advisory body established by	Miss Diana Moyse
the DNPA in accordance with the requirements of the CROW Act 2000.	Mrs Naomi Oakley
The Forum meets four times a year. At least one member should be a	
serving member of the Park Management Working Panel.	
Dartmoor Commoners' Council (1 Member plus a substitute)	
The Dartmoor Commoners' Council was set up under the provisions of the 1985 Dartmoor Commons Act, to regulate agricultural use of the commons. It consists of representatives of the commoners, the DNPA, the Duchy of Cornwall, common land owners and a Veterinarian Surgeon. It meets eight times a year.	Mr Derek Webber Mrs Naomi Oakley (substitute)
Dartmoor Hill Farm Project Steering Group (1)	
The DNPA has secured funding via the Prince's Countryside Fund to extend work of the Dartmoor Hill Farm Project. The overall aim of the project is to contribute to the viability of farm businesses on Dartmoor in ways that help sustain the special qualities of the National Park. A new Steering Group has been appointed and will meet on at least three occasions in each year. The Authority appointee to this group normally Chairs the Steering Group.	Mr Maurice Retallick
Dartmoor Steering Group (3)	
The Steering Group was set up by Parliament following the 1975/76 inquiry conducted by Lady Sharp into the military training use of Dartmoor. Its purpose is to reconcile the (sometimes) competing interests of military training and national park designation and to seek ways of minimising the adverse impact of the training requirement at any one time. More recently the Group has focussed in a positive way on conservation and access benefits of the Defence Estate on Dartmoor. It consists of representatives of all the military interest, the DNPA, the Duchy of Cornwall, Natural England, Historic England and the Dartmoor Commoners' Council. It is served by the Dartmoor Working Party comprised of officers of the DNPA, MoD and other bodies. The Steering Group reports to the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and the Ministry for Defence. It meets annually (it is customary for the Chairman and Deputy Chairman to take two of these seats)  Dartmoor Trust (1)	Mr Kevin Ball Mr Peter Harper Mr Maurice Retallick
The Dartmoor Trust has one DNPA Member representative on the Board of Management. The purposes of the Trust closely reflect National Park purposes. The Trust was established by the DNPA as an independent charitable Trust in the early 1990s in order to harness public and other donations for the good of Dartmoor.	Mr Bill Hitchins
Devon Communities Together (1)	
Devon Communities Together (former Community Council for Devon) exists to promote local community interests. Member representation is required only at the Annual Conference and the Annual General Meeting.	Miss Diana Moyse

Body/Group	2015/2016 Member
Devon Strategic Partnership Board (1)	
The Devon Strategic Partnership comprises public, private, voluntary and community sector organisations, all working together to improve the quality of life for those who live, work in and visit Devon. Their focus is on delivering real improvements to the issues that matter most to the people of Devon; working towards a joint aim to be "a County with safe, healthy and inclusive communities, a strong and diverse economy and a cherished environment. The group holds two workshops a year.	Mr Peter Harper
Greater Dartmoor Local Enterprise Action Fund (1) The LEAF is responsible for providing the overall strategic direction of the programme, approving projects and allocation of funding and ensuring that the programme is implemented effectively.	Mr Peter Harper Mrs Cathie Pannell (substitute)
Joint Advisory Committee on Provision of Housing for Local	
Needs (3) This is a joint advisory committee of the three District Councils in the National Park, the DNPA, the Community Council for Devon and the Housing Corporation. It exists to co-ordinate the planning functions of the NPA with the housing functions of the other bodies. It meets twice a year and is chaired by an Authority Member.	Mr Mike Jeffery Mr Philip Sanders Mr Derek Webber
Joint Meeting Between the Authority and Dartmoor Commoners	
Council (4) The establishment of this annual liaison meeting will help to ensure a strong and effective relationship between the Commoners Council and DNPA.	Mr Peter Harper Mrs Naomi Oakley Mr Derek Webber
Landscape Partnership - Moor Than Meets the Eye Project Board	
(1) The primary purpose of the Board is to advise, support and steer the development, management and delivery of the Scheme for the benefit of the landscape, local community and visitors. The Board will meet bimonthly	Mr David Lloyd
Meldon Viaduct Company (1) In February 1999 the Meldon Viaduct Company was set up for the sole purpose of safeguarding and maintaining the Viaduct to ensure its future as a monument to Victorian engineering and as a valuable recreational resource. The appointed member will sit on the Board of Directors along with representatives from the Aggregate Industries Limited, Dartmoor Railway, Sustrans, and the County and Borough Councils. The group meets quarterly.	Mr Derek Webber
South West Water Recreation & Conservation Forum (1) This Forum consists of representatives of South West Water, local authorities, the DNPA, conservation bodies and recreation user groups. It advises SWW on recreation and conservation issues on its land and water holding. It meets twice a year.	Miss Diana Moyse