The Dartmoor Awards

The Awards

The Dartmoor Awards recognise significant contributors to the National Park purposes of protecting, maintaining and enhancing the scenic beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of Dartmoor, and promoting the understanding and enjoyment of the area's special qualities.

The first prize is the Edward Morshead Award. Edward Morshead was the Chairman of the Dartmoor National Park Committee from 1985 to 1989. He died in office. He spent much time on the ground, committed to farming and the conservation of landscape. The Edward Morshead Award is presented in his memory by the National Park Authority for significant contributions to National Park purposes.

There are three separate prizes within the Award Scheme:

  • First prize the Edward Morshead Award - a specially commissioned trophy, to be held for two years, and a cash prize of £250.
  • Second prize - £150
  • Third prize - £100

A certificate and permanent photographic memento for each Award winner will also be presented.

Dartmoor Preservation Association Shield

The Dartmoor Preservation Association (DPA) is delighted to be associated with the Award, as it has a history of over 100 years of conservation work on Dartmoor. The award is in special recognition of outstanding conservation work carried out by young people (ie less than 21 years old). This can range from practical work out on the open moor to raising awareness of Dartmoor's environment, flora and fauna, or even planting projects undertaken by school groups. The DPA wants to encourage today's young people to learn about and care for Dartmoor.

This section of the Award comprises a shield, to be retained for two years, and a cash prize of £250.

All entries received by the National Park Authority which relate to projects undertaken by young people are automatically considered.

What qualifies?

The work or activity must take place within the boundaries of the Dartmoor National Park, although nominations and entries may be made by any Devon resident, or County-based professional or voluntary body. Projects contributing to landscape, ecological, archaeological or cultural conservation; or to the enjoyment and understanding of the National Park; or which meets the needs of the local community through sustainable developments, can be entered. Nominations can also be made for outstanding individual, or corporate, contributions to Dartmoor and the National Park purposes.

Entries must relate to the two years prior to the closing date. Examples of eligible schemes or activities include:

  • High quality restoration/maintenance of walls, hedgebanks, gateways, and other landscape features adjacent to roads or public rights of way.
  • Enhancement of any site or scene in public use or the public eye.
  • Rehabilitation of a building in the public eye; the design of a new building in the public eye.
  • Archaeological site conservation.
  • Contribution to the welfare of animals or the conservation of wildlife.
  • Semi-natural vegetation or broadleaved woodland management with public access.
  • Provision of public access opportunity, or facility, particularly where meeting objectives of access for all.
  • Outstanding personal or corporate contribution to the good of Dartmoor.
  • Interpretative provision or stimulative work in facilitating the enjoyment and understanding of Dartmoor by others.

For further information concerning eligibility or suitability of entries please contact Kevin Bishop, Chief Executive (National Park Officer) or Alison Harris on 01626 832093.

How to make a nomination

Nominations for the Dartmoor Awards, should be sent by email to or in writing to Alison Harris, Dartmoor National Park, Parke, Bovey Tracey, Newton Abbot, Devon TQ13 9JQ. If sending items via post, and require their return, please include a large, stamped addressed envelope. Nominations should be no more than 500 words. Low resolution images may be sent with emailed entries to support nominations.

Please include with your nomination the following details:

  • The name of the individual, or organisation, being nominated for an Award, and their contact details
  • Your name and contact details
  • Location of the project (if relevant)
  • Ordnance Survey grid reference (if relevant)
  • Brief description of entry (no more than 500 words)
  • Any supporting images (low resolution if emailed please)

Nominations are now closed.


  • The decision of the judges shall be final.
  • Materials submitted in connection with the Awards will not be returned to entrants, unless specifically requested.
  • Dartmoor National Park Authority cannot be held responsible for loss or damage to material submitted.
  • Prize winners will be notified in July 2019. Details of the Awards may be published in local press and on social media.
  • Entrants agree to the use of their entries, and any details or materials submitted, for publicity in connection with the Awards, and by the National Park Authority for National Park purposes.