Local Plan Review

The local plan guides future development in the National Park and is the starting point when we make decisions on planning applications. A lot has changed since we adopted our current local plan and we are now going through the process of reviewing it. 

> The Local Development Scheme outlines the overall timeline for Local Plan production

> The Statement of Community Involvement tells you how you can get involved with the Local Plan Review, and other aspects of planning on Dartmoor

> You can view all the supporting evidence for the current and emerging Local Plan in our Background Evidence section 

> Keep up to date by reading our latest Local Plan Newsletter or emailing us at forwardplanning@dartmoor.gov.uk to be added to the Local Plan consultee list. 

Draft Local Plan Consultation: Winter 2018/19

We’re publishing a draft new local plan for Dartmoor, and consulting on it between 3rd December 2018 and 4th February 2019.

During this period, you will be able to view and comment on the draft plan online or at libraries, parish councils and information points.

As part of this consultation, we will run a series of public drop-in events.  Come along and have a chat with us about the plan and how it might affect you.

Public Drop-in Events

> South East Dartmoor: Ashburton Christmas Fayre, Thursday 6th December 2018, 4pm - 7pm

> South West Dartmoor: Meeting Room, Yelverton War Memorial Hall, Tuesday 11th December 2018, 3pm – 6pm

> North Dartmoor: Whiddon Down Village Hall, Thursday 13th December 2018,3pm – 6pm

> East Dartmoor: Moretonhampstead Community Club, Tuesday 18th December 2018, 3pm – 6pm

In addition to public drop in events, we are also organising various Local Plan workshops for Parish Councils, local organisations and professionals.

Local Plan Display points

During the consultation, printed copies of the Local Plan and accompanying documents will be available to view at the following locations:

> Libraries: Ashburton, Bovey Tracey, Buckfastleigh, Chagford, Ivybridge, Moretonhampstead, Okehampton and Tavistock.

> Dartmoor Visitor Centres: Haytor, Princetown and Postbridge.

> Visitor Information Centres: Ashburton and Moretonhampstead.

> Local Authority Headquarters: Dartmoor (Parke), South Hams (Follaton House), Teignbridge (Forde House), West Devon (Kilworthy), Devon (County Hall).

> Parish and Town Council Offices: of all Town and Parish Councils falling within or partly within Dartmoor National Park.

Issues Consultation: Autumn / Winter 2017

In autumn/winter 2017 we met with our larger communities to talk about development site options. Thank you to everyone who came along - see our consultation summary report. These meetings were informed by evidence from our Land Availability Assessment which established a theoretical pool of sites which could, in technical terms, be developed. We have written a housing sites quick guide to help explain the process we will follow for allocating a site for development, the guide identifies where there will be opportunities to comment further.

Issues Paper

The first consultation of the Local Plan Review in October 2016 offered residents, communities, visitors, businesses and other organisations an opportunity to tell us what issues their are for future development on Dartmoor and how the Local Plan should address these. The Issues Consultation Paper set out the likely issues the new local plan will need to deal with.

Local Plan Issues Consultation Paper 2016

Issues Paper (October 2016)

We have published an Issues Consultation Report (April 2017) summarising the written responses received and the notes of meetings and drop in events held during the consultation period.

Local Plan Newsletters

Newsletter 1 (October 2017)

Newsletter 2 (April 2018)

Newsletter 3 (September 2018)

Follow us on Twitter @DartmoorPlan or Facebook/DartmoorPlan