Listed Buildings

Listed Buildings

Listed Buildings are divided into Grade I (most important), II*, and II depending on their importance. All listed buildings are afforded the same statutory protection, which includes the interior and the exterior and anything attached to the building, meaning that any alterations, both internal and external, may require consent.

Find out if a building is listed

Our design guide contains useful design guidance when considering alterations to listed buildings.

There is also a wealth of information and guidance available from:

historic England logo

Historic England

SPAB logo

Society for the Preservation of Ancient Buildings

Planning advice

Alterations to listed buildings or curtilage buildings require listed building consent from Dartmoor National Park Authority before they are carried out. Undertaking works that require listed building consent without first having this in place constitutes a criminal offence.

If you need advice on any plans you can request planning advice from our Building Conservation Officer.